• Admin


In the Delhi Riot Cases, the Delhi High Court on Monday constituted four special courts for holding trials with respect to the communal violence and clashes that broke out in February in the northeast district of Delhi. The Court has set up two magistrate courts and two sessions courts via its June 15 order issued by Registrar General Manoj Jain.

According to the two orders issued, nine judicial officers will be transferred to sessions and magisterial courts for north, north-east, shahdara, south-east, central and other districts of the national capital.

The Order states that, “The Courts of CMM, North East, KKD and MM-4, Shahdara, KKD are designated as the Courts for trial of recent communal violence/riot cases registered in North-East and Shahdara Districts respectively”.

As per the Order, Mr Purshotam Pathak, Chief Metropolitan Magistrate (CMM), Patiala House Court, New Delhi transferred to North-East Karkardooma and Mr Fahad Uddin, Metropolitan Magistrate MM-1, Central, THC transferred to MM-4, Shahdara, KKD.

Also, the new Additional Session Judge, ASJ-3, North, Rohini, Mr. Vinod Yadav, transferred as ASJ-3, North-East, Karkardooma KKD and Mr Amitabh Rawat, ADJ-4, South-East, Saket transferred as ASJ-3, Shahdara, KKD.

The violence broke out after the agitation between the supporters and opponents of Citizenship Amendment Act, 2019. It caused havoc in the national capital and over 700 FIR’s were registered ,over 200 arrested and more than 2500 people were detained by the Delhi Police.

By: Karman Kaur

10 views0 comments